Return Home

Hello!

I’ve been gone a long time now. Indeed, when I check here, it has been almost a year and a half since I last updated this space. A lot has, as is expected, changed in this time – some for the better, and some, obviously, for worse.

There were things that were lost – cherished dreams, wild hope. There are things that have been gained – redoubtable decisions, and small serenity. But above and below the tides of Time, there is something that I have learnt. Something that I’d read in Swami Vivekananda’s words back in school, admired for the sheer ferocity of the message, but not quite completely grasped.

The importance of Hope. Sorry to sound much like a preacher, but certain things shape you in life, and most of this one and a half-year has been a succession of such things. At the risk of sounding immodest, I can claim with some pride that I did survive many, and conquered most, crises that Life so gleefully threw at me. When at times it felt that it was blind sailing on a turbulent night, old hands appeared and helped weathered the storm. When the roads that I’d assumed to be certain were obliterated in one swift stroke, tired feet almost gave way. But loving hands caught me before the fall and taught me that, though not pleasurable, sometimes we must walk in the mire to get to where we want. Taught me to navigate through the slime, taught me to walk again with my head held high.

The journey still remains, and I yet have to walk. But today as I write again this online monologue, I wish to convey my thanks to those who were there. And, after all, what more can anyone ask for? I hope that they shall, surely, identify themselves in these words, and if modesty fails to enlighten them, I know that I am and shall remain grateful to them.

But how did I learn Hope? And what were the words of Swami Vivekanand?

I’d best quote the great man himself: “The hope lies in you – in the meek, in the lowly, but the faithful. Have faith in the Lord…and look up for help – it shall come.

Believe me, it does…

Leave a Reply

