Longing

Longing (Click on the image for source.)

Longing (Click on the image for source.)

There’s something to be said about sadness – it brings out some rather vivid creativity from within. I don’t know what the reason or the relation is, but it sure is something that I’m sure most of us have, at some point or the other, experienced.

This is the product of one such experience of mine. I’d love to hear what you think of it.

Longing

Falling through the skies,

Falling, and stopping, and falling again,

Nightly dreams these that don’t stop,

 

I wish I could solve these crises,

Write away these worries,

I wish, and I wish some more.

 

Disconnected and disrupted.

A moment in which I am away from you,

A moment that lasts through hours entirely,

 

Feeling like I don’t belong,

Feeling that I am no more,

How honestly could I say that and stay away?

 

Will you please show up?

Will you please come to me?

And let me hug you, and cry a tear or two,

 

These storms have weathered me, my soul’s in shreds,

And wounds too deep to heal on their own,

I wish I could have you now, and keep you with me,

 

And each of these wounds would become flowers.

Last night I stayed up, and dreamt with my eyes open,

Of each waking hour that I had spent in your eyes,

 

And each moment made me wish some more of you,

Each moment made me want your arms,

Night faded, and morning arose, and the day has started,

 

But I’m still at dawn, eyes swollen.

Laughter has stopped, and I’ve forgotten what a smile was,

Other than, of course, yours that haunts me,

 

My head swims, as do I, troubled by these terrible waters,

And seek a shore that shan’t arrive,

For you sit there, calm and collected, and laughing,

 

And I here, sitting right next to you, far, far away.

Leave a Reply

