आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ

After a long time, I’m publishing something.

Years have passed, life has changed immensely, and through it all, I’ve largely lost writing. Not that I did not want to, it was almost as if I could not get myself to do any writing at all. I don’t know if this was writer’s block: I’d like to think that is something more severe than my induced-by-the-squeeze-of-the-worldly-life-inability-to-think.

Anyway, as is most opportune, some words struck me just a few days ago. Gearing to celebrate my favourite festival – something I’ve written about previously and again – I wrote this. The title is the words that got the juices in the head going again, they are inspired by one of the most beautiful poems I’ve come across – written by the late Atal Bihari Vajpayee, arguably India’s greatest Prime Minister.

I wish you a very Shubh Deepawali: and wish the festival is all light, all warmth, all joy, and all celebration for you and your family.


आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ

बड़ों के आशीषों की मिस्री,
पिताजी से मिलती वो तीखी-सी सीख,
माँ के हाथ के पकवानों के चटकारे,
भाई के साथ जलेबी-से ठहाके, रॉकट-सी चीख,
जो खो गए हैं स्वाद जीवन के,
फिर से थोड़े आज रचाएँ,
आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ…

वो कूद-कूद कर पंखों की सफ़ाई,
रजाइयों में चुराई गयी झपकी,
अवसर ढूँढना माँ के किसी अलमारी में फँसने का,
नहीं तो यहाँ हम भागे, वहाँ वो लपकी,
चलो फिर से आईने पोंछे, उजाला करें इस बरस,
मन के कोनों से जाले हटाएँ,
आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ…

वो हफ़्तों पहले से निकलना बाज़ार को,
नए कपड़ों, नई रोशनियों की तलाश में,
नए पटाखों की चुन-चुन के फ़रमाइश करनी,
चक्री, अनार, और वो जो यूँ फैलते थे आकाश में,
दुनिया के शोर में जो सुना सकें मुस्काने,
इस बार कुछ ऐसी फुलझड़ियाँ जगाएँ,
आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ…

वो घंटों की पूजा में सहस्त्रों नाम देवी के,
बिना मंत्र जाने भी कुछ न कुछ बड़बड़ाना,
देख-देख पंडितजी की नकल करनी,
आरती के थाल को ज़िद्द कर अकेले घुमाना,
सोचा है कि ईएमआई को भुला के, उत्साह से,
फिर बालक बन माँ लक्ष्मी को बुलाएँ,
आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ…

कभी जलाते थे दिए तेल के,
मिठाइयों से थाल, आँगन रंगोली सजाते थे,
यारों के, रिश्तेदारों से जाते थे मिलने,
और न जाते तो संदेसा पहुँचाते थे,
कुछ प्रयास कर फिर से मनाएँ वह त्योहार,
अपनों को कुछ और पास लाएँ,
आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ…

हार जाते हैं लंकेश-से अंधेरे भी,
जो सीता एक लौ बन जाती है,
जहाँ रम जाते हैं हनुमान-सी भक्ति में,
वो श्वास ही संजीवनी कहलाती है,
तो बनाकर मन श्रीअयोध्या-सा निर्मल,
करें प्रार्थना फिर रघुवर घर आएँ,
आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ…


Still here? I’m humbled. Thank you!

What did you think of this piece? I’m always eager to get some feedback so please drop a comment, a rating, or a like below.

And, if you loved it, please share it with others connosieurs. 🙂

After a long time, I’m publishing something. Years have passed, life has changed immensely, and through it all, I’ve largely lost writing. Not that I did not want to, it was almost as if I could not get myself to do any writing at all. I don’t know if this was writer’s block: I’d like…

One response to “आओ मिलकर दीप जलाएँ”

  1. […] festival is something of a muse for me: I’ve written about it here, here, and here. But this year, it felt very different writing […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Issue is a magazine-style theme design that displays blog posts, reviews, artwork and news.

⏬

It comes with different styles to spark your creativity in making it just as you'd like to.

Designed with WordPress

MagBlog is a magazine theme focused on sizable type and imagery to expand your content. Make it yours ⏬